top of page

The Vagina Monologues


An Obie Award-winning whirlwind tour of a forbidden zone, The Vagina Monologues introduces a wildly divergent gathering of female voices.


The Vagina Monologues has been playing in India since March 2003 and is produced by POOR-BOX PRODUCTIONS. It has been given an Indian twist: The original monologue "The Flood", featuring a Jewish woman has been transformed into a story about an elderly Parsi woman; and a woman who meets a man who loves to look at her Vagina is now a Maharashtrian woman in the Indian production.


The Indian production of The Vagina Monologues is produced and directed by Mahabanoo Kotwal and Kaizaad Navroze Kotwal. The play has performed in: Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore, Calcutta, Hyderabad, Pune, Calcutta, Bhubhaneshwar, and Colombo in Sri Lanka.


The original cast is still performing the play: Mahabanoo Mody-Kotwal, Dolly Thakore, Jayati Bhatia, Sonali Sachdev, and Avantika Akerkar. Shivani Tanksale and Varshaa Agnihotri have filled in for certain performances.


In March 2009, to celebrate the 200th show of The Vagina Monologues in India, Poor-Box Productions presented V-DAY INDIA 2009: WOMEN AND MEN ENDING VIOLENCE "ALL TOGETHER". That event featured several Bollywood stars including Imran Khan, Farhan Akhtar, Zoya Akhtar, Loveleen Tandan, Sandip Soparrkar, Sid Makkar, Jessy Randhawa, Smilie Suri and Nairika Kotwal-Cornett.


The Hindi language translation of The Vagina Monologues titled

 Kissa Yoni Ka debuted in Mumbai at the NCPA's TATA Theatre in January 2007. The cast included: Mahabanoo Mody-Kotwal, Dolly Thakore, Varshaa Agnihotri, Russika Duggal, Geetika Tyagi and Shivani Tanksale. The last two have been replaced by Dilnaz Irani since August 2008

bottom of page